PDA

View Full Version : Hibernation Questions

Satur9
10-30-2006, 06:06 PM
Can a tegu get sick/die while in hibernation if they did not eat enough before or will they just get up and eat? I'm new to lizards that hibernate and don't want my little guy, who just started hibernating, to get sick. He lives in a giant fishtank and has been sleeping in some shirts in his hide for about a week without basking or eating and he feels very cold but isn't dead. I think he is just hibernating but I'm not sure. Please help me! :(

Johelian
10-31-2006, 07:25 AM
A tegu wont die of hunger while hibernating, since their metabolism slows right down. They shouldnt even lose too much weight, so if your tegu is getting skinnier, its likely to be a health problem. Its a greater risk to have their stomachs full of food when they go down, as it wont digest and will rot in there.

What are the temperatures in your cage? Basking spot etc?

Satur9
10-31-2006, 04:50 PM
He isn't getting skinnier, I'm just checking before there is a problem because I am somewhat new to hibernating reptiles. The basking area is about 90 F. and the other side isroom temperature which is 74 for most of the time

Satur9
11-01-2006, 06:45 PM
I would also like to know if I should check on my Tegu periodically while he is hibernating or just leave him alone until he comes out in spring

emma_ra7
11-07-2006, 09:44 PM
I was wondering the same thing. Should I continually check my Tegu while she is hibernating or leave her alone. Also every few days or so she will get up and bask but she won't eat anything I offer. Is that normal? She will bask for a short time and the go back to sleep for a day or three. And she seems thin to me but what is to thin? I am new at this also and paranoid that she is going to die if she doesn't eat.

Rick
11-08-2006, 06:49 AM
I was wondering the same thing. Should I continually check my Tegu while she is hibernating or leave her alone.