PDA

View Full Version : new to forums and new to tegus

nat
02-12-2007, 02:07 PM
Hello all
I joined this forum in an effort to cram my brain with every possible piece of tegu information that is possible as I just discovered today that I will be caring for (most likely long term) an argentinian black and white tegu. I am not new to reptiles but I have never kept tegus (although I have worked with savs).

Anyways, I will introduce myself. My name is Nat, and I have been keeping reptiles for at least 10 years. My focus is with tortoises and dart frogs but recently I have also become quite interested in a variey of skink species.

I have also been involved in reptile rescue, rehoming and education for the greater part of 10 years (hence the encounter with the tegu next week). I suspect after reading the various care sheets that this animal may become a permanent part of my family :D . My sulcata tortoises and blue tongue skinks were also rescues and after realizing their amazing personalities, I cannot let them go and it sounds like the tegu will not be an exception.

anyways, I look forward to learning all that I can about these amazing animals and hope to have all the help I can get in preparing for the tegu's arrival (one week from today).

Thanks for having me

worleygurl
02-12-2007, 02:10 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums! I love sulcattas, dart frogs, and blue tongue skinks! Kudos to you for being involved in rescue. I too rescue. I have had reptiles for about 7 years now. They are certainly my passion, tho I love all animals!

I read your other posts about the tegu you will be taking in. I can't wait to find out what this moron means by "retarded" and "tame" While tegus are typically very social, tame lizards, I am afraid that this one is more lethargic and half dead than tame. Stick around here. There are several members that have a lot of knowledge to share and will help you, along with your vet to get this tegu back to health if it's possible.