PDA

View Full Version : New argentine b/w tegu

Diego
06-23-2007, 10:12 PM
Hi everyone, I am new to this type of thing, my name is Paul and I am from England.
My tegu is 6 months old and he has just today started to climb up my hand/glove. I am not sure how long to leave it until I handle him properly as he is still wary?
I am trying to do it right but I am not sure if I am doing it too slowly and need to try to get him out yet.

fastbaz
06-24-2007, 07:33 AM
HI PAUL NICE TO MEET YOU. I AM FROM ENGLAND AS WELL NEAR BIRMINGHAM.. HOW LONG YOU HAD YOUR BABY HAD OURS FOR ABOUT 5 WEEKS NOW AND HE/SHE HAS JUST STARTED TO CLIMB OUT OF THE VIV ON HIS/HER OWN WILL LET ME PICK UP BUT STILL A BIT WRIGGLY BUT WHAT THE HELL HE/SHE IS STILL GETTINMG USED TO SMELLS NOISE ETC... SEE YOU AROUND THE FORUM ITS A VERY INTERESTING PLACE AND HAS HELPED ME A LOT SO FAR..

Diego
06-24-2007, 05:16 PM
Hi Fastbaz, thanks for your reply - I have had diego for 2 weeks, he was a present for fathers day from my wife and he has just started to climb up my arm the last couple of days. He has a healthy appetite as they all have and is an ace new addition to the family along with our 2 beardies, 3 parrots, a budgie, 7 rabbits,a dog and 2 oscellated uromastyx. This is down to my wife working in a pet shop and bringing her work home with her - I just wish she worked in a bank!
Do you have any other pets?

vetherantis
07-08-2007, 04:32 PM
Heya,
Im in England too. we have a b/w tegu "thor". I was very weary of having such a big lizard around but I can handle him fine now.
When i open the viv, he hisses and rears up, but i let him smell me and I stoke him and talk softly and I can pick him up fine after that.
And i always talk to him while i stroke the back of his neck and so now when i do it he closes his eyes and puts his head in the air, I swear if he could purr he would. :)

S
xx

Johelian
07-08-2007, 09:08 PM
Hey, plenty of English types! :D Im from Surrey in the South, hello to you all!