PDA

View Full Version : Hibernation and infertility

jmiles50
12-18-2008, 06:18 PM
So, I've read some info that suggested females skipping a hibernation can result in infertility. Now it seemed a little far fetched to me, but I'm no expert :? Has anyone else heard of that :?:

worldeater
12-18-2008, 06:59 PM
yep supposedly, a female that doesn't hibernate her first year will have stretched reproductive organs from growing too fast, rendering them infertile.

honestly, i think it's bull. for one, even if they don't hibernate they don't really grow anyway. seems like tegus only grow half the year.

also, don't you think if growing too fast had the ability to stretch organs then other parts of their bodys would suffer as well? why just the reproductive organs?

also, columbians and blues don't hibernate and they breed fine.

jmiles50
12-18-2008, 11:42 PM
I ask because I might wanna breed her someday, and I don't want her to skip hibernation. She's still eating the same and roaming all day. She comes out right now a little later in the morning, but that's the only change. Should I help her start the hibernation process by shortening The light schedule?

worldeater
12-19-2008, 10:41 PM
lol, you can try. i tried to keep my hatchling awake and to get groxy to hibernate, but they decided to do the exact opposite, jokers sleepy and groxy's hungry. seems to me they will decide if they want to go down for winter or not. not really in your control. you can try to shorten the light schedual, might even work.

tupinambis
12-22-2008, 07:01 AM
Worldeater, you're quite correct, the "infertility because of stretched gonads" is nothing but what a bunch of total and utter Varnyard fabricated nonsense.