PDA

View Full Version : The Unholdable Tegu

Eclyps19
12-10-2005, 10:44 PM
I got my tegu a good week and a half ago. I've been trying to leave him alone as much as possible since he's in a new enviroment and just went through UPS. He just shed everything but his tail, he's eating pretty well, he's sleeping like normal, but he just has a freaking cow when you try to hold him. He's suddenly petrified of people. I know that his old owners held him a lot. They showed me 20 pics of him being held. What advice can you guys give me on calming him down. How long should I leave him alone. I try to hold him probably once every 2 days. He was okay the first time but after that its been rough. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

CRG
12-10-2005, 10:55 PM
I would give him more time to adjust to his surrounding and feel safe..But Im not an expert, Ive only got a baby.

Eclyps19
12-10-2005, 10:56 PM
this one is 8 months old... forgot to mention that

Johelian
12-10-2005, 11:01 PM
How old is your tegu? Baby and young tegus are generally quite flighty compared to older ones, purely because practically everything is a threat to a small lizard ;) This is something that usually becomes less evident with age, as larger tegus seem mellower and less nervous.

A lot of people on here have commented that they can usually hold their tegus in their hands ok - its usually catching them thats the problem. Is this the same for you? If so, as I mentioned above this is probably something that will gradually get better. Some tegus will calm significantly once you have them out of the cage and rested against your body. As a primarily ground dwelling lizard, they prefer to have something under their feet, and so may squirm a lot if youre holding them by the body - try to scoop them up under the front and back feet at the same time if your tegu is small enough to be held in this way.