Thread: New Tegu Owner! Habitat/General Questions

Default New Tegu Owner! Habitat/General Questions

Howdy my name is Brianna and I am a student at Texas A&M! I just purchased my first Tegu ever from Johnny at Tegu Terra! I am getting an Argentine B&W Female! I am so excited and can not wait for her to arrive next week! Any advice for a new Tegu owner? I have a 55 gallon currently for her (shes about 2 months old) and was planning on using a combo of coca husk, eco earth, reptibark, and some sphagnum moss for substrate. How long will a 55 gallon last her? In the tank I have two hides, a big water dish, a tree limb, and a waterfall as well as a UVB/heat fixture on top. I have eggs, crickets, and a repashy product called meat pie along with some fruit/veggies for her to eat. I am planning on giving her a big variety of options for food so I may find some more options like turkey, fish, or mealworms. Just wondering if anyone has any advice that they wish they would have known when they got their first Tegu or any suggestions in general! I would also love name suggestions

My current collection of wonderful pets:
    0.1 Redtail Boa Constrictor (been told she may be a brazilian) "Bella"
    1.0 Albino ball python "Kyren"
    0.1 Cinnamon ball python "Envy"
    0.1 Pastel ball python "Sunshine"
    1.0 Pewter ball python "Cicero"
    0.1 Axanthic ball python "Yahirra"
    0.1 Normal ball python "Natalia"
    0.1 Normal ball python "Alice"
    1.0 Normal ball python het axanthic 66% pos het. albino "Arbok"
    0.1 Normal ball python rescue animal "Destiny"
    0.1 Normal ball python (offspring from Natalia) "Esmeralda"
    0.1 Normal ball python (offspring from Natalia) "Ayra"
    1.0 Woma Python "Boomerang"
    0.1 Indian Sand Boa "Tiger Lilly"
    0.1 Jungle Carpet Python "Sarabi"
    0.1 Albino Nelson Milksnake "Pherris"
    1.0 Leucistic Ratsnake "Mr.Googles"

Crested Geckos:
    "Ace", "Lucinda", "Aries", "Josephine", "Harley", "Quinn", and "Sandshrew"