Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: So what do you actually feed your tegus?

Default So what do you actually feed your tegus?

This is probably been done to death, but I was wondering what people actually feed their tegus? What species of tegu do you have, and what have you been feeding your species of tegu and why?

I have two black and white Argentinian tegus, and one red (rufruscens). All get whole meat based foods like mice, and rats. I also feed them a 'salad' mixed with berries, various chards, romaine, and ground turkey along with tuna fish in oil(for shedding, and digestion).

I'd drop the chard, it's extremely high in oxalic acids.

I'm still new to tegus, but my adopted Argentine B&W adult gets whole vertebrates (chicks and mice) - being a monitor owner I find it hard to get around the idea of non-whole foods (like turkey mince and chicken breasts etc) but it seems many tegu owners feed these things successfully.

Mine apparently didn't like his fruits apart from the odd grape - but I've managed to get him onto all different types of fruits - normal and exotic - he absolutely adores mango and if he can get hold of it a whole sharon fruit - which then explodes all over the place :lol:

The only veg I've managed so far is orange pepper - but I'm going to try more - maybe "dragon food" like pak choi and chinese leaf would be good? How about whole oily fish like mackerel - is that OK?

I know it's off topic- you said you have a monitor, what kind?
    I have an Ornate and Black Throat. With that said, my freezer is full of mice and rats!

I used to have a sav but now have just an ackie. Oooh - an ornate - I'd love one of those ! If only room wasn't an issue :( Another monitor I love is argus - they are so active.

Hello eradi...You have an ornate nile monitor?? Please post pics. I would love to see it..

Rob

I have pix in my gallery but that module isn't working...?
    I'll have to try to find a way to post some. She's a pretty girl