Thread: Hello from CO, couple questions...

Hybrid View

Default Hello from CO, couple questions...

Hi everyone!
    So we just got our first tegu today. she's awesome, about 13 inches long so not a hatchling but far from adult tegu-hood. I have a couple of questions about her enclosure. We currently have her in a 40 gallon tank because we aren't done with her enclosure yet. In a day or two it will be done. the enclosure we are building is 3 ft by 6 ft by 3 ft on the top level, with a hole in one corner leading down to a small 2 by 3 ft "underground" burrow (fully enclosed, no lighting, just lots of substrate to dig around in). Is this enclosure going to be too big for our little girl right now? or is it a good idea to just get her into her home quickly and let her get acclimated?
    Attached Images Attached Images

I'm no expert like some on this forum, but my guess would be that a new little tegu will find the underground cavern, go to hide, and just settle itself to the cool, dark environment and not come out. I'd definitely start her in a smaller space - maybe if you can temporarily put up a partition and close of the secret cave.

I don't think the space will be a problem, I actually think she will enjoy it. Just make sure she has a few hides. The only problem would be if the enclosure is to big for you to reach her if you need too. The cavern might not be needed yet.

im still wondering if my underbed enclosure is going to be too big for a couple baby tegus to be running around in :p i think they'll enjoy it though.

Elwood, IL - Southwest Suburb of Chicago (about an hour away)